Become a GP in Western Australia

To practise independently as a GP in Australia, you need to achieve a fellowship in general practice training.

Like all medical specialists, to be a GP takes an extended period of specialised training. Fellowship signifies that a GP has been assessed as competent across the core skills of general practice, enabling him or her to practise safely in Australia.

The best pathway to fellowship is on the Australian General Practice Training (AGPT), currently facilitated by nine regional training organisations (RTOs) across Australia. WA General Practice Education and Training (WAGPET) is the provider of the AGPT program in WA, offering registrars the real-world experience, insights and knowledge they need to become the best GPs they can be.

The AGPT program is offered through two colleges, the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM) and the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP). It consists of either three or four years of full-time, on-the-job training with the opportunity to practise medicine in urban, outer metro, rural and remote locations.

GP training with ACRRM

A four-year training program with ACRRM offers a broad curriculum, specifically designed to prepare you for rural general practice.

Core Generalist Training

You are required to complete a minimum of 3 years Core Generalist Training (CGT) commencing at postgraduate year (PGY) 2 or above. Ideally, the majority of your mandatory rotations should be comoleted during the first 12 months of your CGT year.

These mandatory rotations are:

- General surgery

- General internal medicine

- Emergency medicine

- Paediatrics

- Obstetrics

- Anaesthetics

Where completing these terms is not possible during your first 12 months of CGT, the ACRRM program has scope for you to complete these rotations during your Primary Care and Rural or Remote Practice terms.

During CGT, you will complete the minimum full time equivalent training in: 

Primary care

6 months

Secondary care

3 months

Emergency care

3 months

Rural or remote practice

12 months


10 weeks


10 weeks


10 weeks


Advanced Specialised Training

The Advanced Specialised Training (AST) term is minimum 12 months of training within a specific discipline. This term can be commenced at PGY3 or above, any time after your first 12 months of CGT.

GP training with RACGP

Undertaking GP training with RACGP equips you to competently deliver high-quality general practice care in any general practice setting.

When applying for the AGPT program with RACGP, you can choose to train on the general or rural pathway. These pathways determine where you will train, not the content of your GP vocational training. Your choice in pathway does not restrict where you can work once you are a fellowed GP.

Hospital Training Time

The Hospital Training Time (HTT) is a 12-month term that you are required to complete at the beginning of your training in which you will complete mandatory hospital terms such as, anaesthetics, emergency medicine, obstetrics and gynaecology, general medicine, general surgery and paediatrics.

General Practice Terms 1-3

Over 18 months, you will complete General Practice Terms 1-3 (GPT) in three six-month terms. Any training facility you train at must be accredited by WAGPET and RACGP prior to starting.

Extended Skills

In addition to your 18 months of GP training, you are required to undertake six months of Extended Skills training. You can either choose to further develop your skills and knowledge in a general practice setting by doing a fourth semester of general practice or opt to work in a specialty area of particular interest to you (Non-GP Extended Skills).

Advanced Rural Skills Training

In addition, you can develop additional skills with the Fellowship in Advanced Rural General Practice (FARGP). Your Advanced Rural Skills Training (ARST) can be undertaken at any point during your training after you have completed your HTT. In this term, you must complete 12 months training in one or two disciplines, such as Aboriginal health, anaesthetics, child and adolescent health, emergency medicine, mental health, obstetrics, palliative care, Royal Flying Doctor Service, small town general practice and surgery.