Recognising outstanding contributions to GP training in WA.


Each year, WAGPET seeks nominations for outstanding registrars and training facilities who are making meritorious contributions to general practice training in WA.

Anyone involved with the training program can make a nomination; these can be for an entire training facility or an individual GP registrar that stands apart from the rest in the level of commitment they have to general practice and GP training. Nominations open annually towards the end of the year and are submitted online.

GP Registrar of the Year criteria

The desired qualities of a WAGPET GP Registrar of the Year nominee should include:

  • demonstrated excellence in general practice
  • high quality of care provided to patients
  • commitment to patients and the wider community.

Training Practice of the Year criteria

For the Training Practice of the Year Award, the following aspects of training support are considered:  

  • the availability of the GP supervisors, both for corridor consultation and formal teaching
  • the quality of the teaching provided – both formal and informal
  • the support given to the GP registrar by all members of the training practice - both medical and non-medical
  • the commitment of practice staff to GP registrar training.
GP Registrar of the Year
Year Award Recipient
2017 Dr Yen Lo
2016 Dr Hilaire Dufour
2015 Dr Elizabeth Gray
2014 Dr Fergus McCabe
Dr Rohan Carter
2013 Dr Elaine Lee
2012 Dr Lin Chan
2011 Dr Paris Bovell
2010 Dr Sarah Moore
2009 Dr Juliette Frost
2008 Dr Jonathan Morling
2007 Dr Tanya Coulson
2006 Dr Sam Bowden
2005 Dr Kevin Yong
2004 Dr Siew-Lee Thoo
Training Practice of the Year
Year Award Recipient
2017 Lockridge Medical Centre
2016 Brecken Health Care
2015 Walter Road East General Practitioners
2014 Collie River Valley Medical Centre
2013 Fulham General Practice
2012 Southern Regional Medical Group
2011 Currambine Family Practice
2010 King Edward Memorial Hospital
2009 Pioneer Health
2008 Stirk Medical Group
2007 Drs Dyson & Gay General Practitioners
2006 Hillside Family Practice
2005 Mead Medical Group
2004 Beaumaris Family Practice
Prevocational Community Medicine Award

The Prevocational Community Medicine Award was part of the Community Residency Program (formerly the Prevocational General Practice Placement Program). This award category is no longer available as the CRP was discontinued in 2015.

The criteria for this award included:

  • commitment to patients and the practice
  • commitment to teaching and learning
  • commitment to the status and profile of community medicine.
Year Award Recipient
2015 Dr Byron Manning
2014 Dr Lucia Wang
2013 Dr Andrea Gomes
2012 Dr Graeme Fitzclarence
2011 Dr Elizabeth Jaskolski
2010 Dr Elissa Bell
2009 Dr Heather Brand
2008 Dr Stephanie Trust

Congratulations to our 2017 Award Winners

This year, WAGPET received a large amount of outstanding nominations from WAGPET registrars, supervisors, practice managers and staff.

The WAGPET Registrar of the Year award recognises a registrar who demonstrates excellence in general practice, high quality care to their patients and commitment to their patients and wider community. Congratulations to Dr Yen Lo, who was awarded the WAGPET Registrar of the Year award by WAGPET Chair Dr Damien Zilm.

The WAGPET Training Facility of the Year recognises an accredited training facility who provide high-quality supervision, teaching and support for their registrars. Congratulations to Lockridge Medical Centre for winning WAGPET Training Facility of the Year. GP supervisor Dr Nadine Perlen accepted the award on behalf of the training facility.

Please join us in congratulating the following recipients:

WAGPET Training Practice of the Year:
Lockridge Medical Centre

GP Registrar of the Year:
Dr Yen Lo

Dr Peter Wutchak receives award for General Practice of the Year

On a high from back-to-back wins, firstly as the Principal supervisor at Collie River Valley Medical Centre which took out the RACGP General Practice of...

View Details

Dr Fergus McCabe - Journey to fulfil childhood dream

Dr Fergus McCabe, the joint winner of the 2014 WAGPET Registrar of the Year Award, can recall exactly when he decided to become a doctor. It...

View Details

Rohan Carter - Passion for Aboriginal Health

Closing the gap in Aboriginal Health and empowering patients to truly understand their health are the two burning issues that get Dr Rohan Carter –...

View Details