General and Rural Pathway Obligations

When you applied for the Australian General Practice Training (AGPT) program, you would have nominated either the General or Rural pathway.  Your training obligations are as follows:

General Pathway

You can elect to undertake 12 months of training in any location of your choice provided the site is an accredited WAGPET training site. The additional 12 months training must be completed in one of the following settings:

  • 12 months training in ASGC-RA 2-5* location or
  • 12 months training in Outer Metropolitan location or
  • 12 months training comprising two of the following:
- 6 months training in a outer metropolitan location; or
- 6 months training in a rural location classified ASGC-RA 2.5; or
- 6 months training in an Indigenous Health Training Post in an Aboriginal Medical Service

* The Australian Standard Geographic Classification – Remoteness Areas (ASGC-RA) is a geographic classification system designed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. RAs make up the ASGC-RA classification system. The RA categories are listed below, with workforce incentives available for categories ranging between RA2 to RA5.

RA1 - Major Cities of Australia
RA2 - Inner Regional Australia
RA3 - Outer Regional Australia
RA4 - Remote Australia
RA5 - Very Remote Australia
For detail on WAGPET accredited sites and their RA code, see part 2 below

For more information visit the Doctor Connect website or contact your Training Advisor for guidance.

Rural Pathway

General practice terms must be in rural or remote areas RA 2-5, with the exception of procedural posts that may be undertaken in metropolitan areas, for example, obstetrics and anaesthetics.

Rural Training Posts

If you intend to complete all your placements in a rural location, you can choose to work towards additional rural qualifications.  As outlined earlier, this can be via the Fellowship of the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (FACRRM), a Fellowship in Advanced Rural General Practice (FARGP), or both, as the requirements are not mutually exclusive.

Both the FACRRM and FARGP require 12 months of Advanced Rural Skills training. Such skills can also be developed outside the program; however, if incorporated as part of your GP training, there are the additional benefits of funding support and placement organisation. 

You can talk to your Registrar Liaison Officer or Training Advisor about specific training regions and available training practices.

Remember to look at the list of training practices on the WAGPET website. Each practice has their own profile with a link to their own external website.

WAGPET cannot guarantee that you can spend all of your training time in an area that you choose. Refer to the Placement & Enrolment Policy for further information.


Return to top