Extended Skills

Further develop your GP skills or specialise in a discipline with RACGP.

In addition to 18 months of general practice terms, all RACGP registrars are required to undertake six months of extended skills training in one discipline. You can choose to further develop your skills and knowledge in general practice (GP Extended Skills) or opt to work in a speciality area of particular interest to you (Non-GP Extended Skills).

The Non-GP Extended Skills term can be undertaken at any point of your training, provided you have completed PGY1 and PGY2. If you choose GP Extended Skills, you can only undertake this term on completion of  GPT1-3. All extended skills training can only be undertaken at training facilities accredited by WAGPET on behalf of RACGP. If you are on the rural pathway and wish to undertake your Non-GP Extended Skills in a metro area, please contact your PTA to discuss your eligibility. Please refer to the AGPT Training Obligations Policy and AGPT Transfer Policy for more information. Whatever your choice, you must discuss it with your program training advisor prior.

Non-GP Extended Skills

If you choose the non-GP option for your extended skills training, you can choose to develop your skills in the following:

  • drug and alcohol
  • emergency medicine
  • family planning
  • medical administration
  • mental health
  • obstetrics
  • occupational health
  • paediatrics
  • palliative care
  • sports medicine
  • travel medicine
  • women’s health services.

For Extended Skills training facilities, please contact your PTA.